who is gonna read it anyway

Somehow this feels like a story of escaping concentration.

tumblr_n11j5dNBee1s6ejrto1_500
Actually it did not turn out that bad so feel free to read.

I love storytelling, to the point that I get a bit freaked out when people tell me that I am good at it. Which is also very awesome, btw, I mean, is there anyone on Earth that would like not to hear a word or two on how well they are doing at whatever they do? Probably, unless they are mainly screwing things up, but even though, I bet they would love for someone to pat them on their shoulder and tell them how great at being an anti-hero they are. Just imagine getting a golden star for each time an antagonist enslaves a civilization – this is not impossible, even for my standards.

I am losing the track since the first paragraph, this is no good.

So, let’s get back to the right stuff. I have a strong feeling that people may think I am very motivated to write or come up with stories, but I am not. This is just a thing I was doing since always. One of my best memories of childhood is me and my little sis laying in the dark in our beds and my imagination going crazy high in telling good night stories. I swear I could hear my parents’ face palming each and every time the plot got really too far, but there was something tempting in their never making us silent. When I think about that, they never made my brother silent while mastering his guitar skills, so maybe that was the way to put up some balance in all that parenting madness. Anyway, when my sis got too big for stories I got to writing diaries, school paper articles, blogs. I mean this is what I was doing all the freaking time, so it really does not lie in motivation, just in a habit.

Then comes a bit of technique and voice, but it really comes with time and attention, so it’s less than 2% of a whole.

What I want to say is that there is a lot of things you can tell to a writer but I truly believe the best choice is “You should write more.” I know it may sound cheesy and probably any author has heard it a 100s of times, but this brings a bit of this setting free feeling. Kinda like with my parents struggling each night not to lose some precious sleep, but you know that everything comes with a price. And the more I think about that, the more I feel that my writing comes also with some percent of obligation to anyone who is so kind to bare with me. In some way it reminds me of the very crucial rule I also set up for my students while teaching writing, that the first thing to do is to think about the audience.

I guess, whatever one choose, native speakers, mom, blog readers, it’s just good to keep them in mind. However, I don’t think it is much about their taste, more like a mix of a duty with returning a favor. So yes, I guess telling one to write more may be corny as it seems, but it’s a good kind of a cliche. The one I can follow.

4 thoughts on “who is gonna read it anyway

  1. I really like this idea. I remember getting some feedback last year, and it was constructive and listed what worked well and what I could improve, but what struck me was the last line. It went something like, “I really hope you continue working on this.” This single comment from someone I respected and admired was enough fuel for months for me. It’s funny to think about, now that you mention it’s one of the best choices of advice for a writer. It’s true! Just write more 🙂

    • Thank you for sharing your story! The best feedback really goes with simple curiosity on reader’s side, doesn’t it? Sometimes it just needs to be said in a straight forward way.

Leave a Reply

